Board of Directors

The volunteer Board of Directors meet quarterly to discuss issues affecting aboriginal women in Yukon and northern BC and provide guidance to Yukon Aboriginal Women’s Council operations. The Board of Directors comprises 7 – 10 members: 1 youth, 2 elders, and 5-7 directors at large (including officers). The Executive Committee comprises the President, Vice president, Treasurer, Secretary, and an Elder.

Current members are as follows (as of Aug. 3, 2020):

Terri Szabo, President

Susan Burns, Vice-President

Lorraine O’Brien, Secretary

Susan Magun, Treasurer

May Bolton, Elder (Executive Committee)

Aggie Magun, Elder

Sandra Combs, Director

Yvonne Shorty, Director

Katelyn Wolftail, Youth

View the YAWC Bylaws/Constitution here.


Claudia Riveros, Executive Director

Sylvia Brown, Office Administrator

Sue Christianson, ISET Coordinator

Joy O’Brien, MMIWG Outreach Coordinator

Susan Ross, Project Support

If you have any comments or would like to become a member of YAWC, please contact us at (867) 667-6162, toll free 1-866-667-6162, email, or our office in Whitehorse. We want to hear from you!


To become a new member or renew your membership to YAWC, please fill in your information below. Your contact information is not shared.

Annual membership runs from April 1 to March 31. Fee is $2. Two ways to complete a membership form:

Online Membership Registration:

Or Download Form: Download Membership Form and send to or mail to/ drop off at the YAWC office on 407 Black St.